City Selection Committee


Members of the LA County City Selection Committee include the Mayor of each city within Los Angeles County. Each city appoints an elected official as a delegate to the City Selection Committee; it usually is the Mayor.  The term of office for each Member of the LA County City Selection Committee coincides with City Mayor terms, and the Committee meets three or four times a year, at the call of the Chairman.  Their duties are to appoint City representatives to such Boards, Commissions and Agencies as may be required by law, i.e., LAFCO, South Coast Air Quality Management District, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority; and to nominate for appointment Members to the California Coastal Commission.

Nominations for the City Selection Committee appointees to the MTA are made by the Sector Subcommittees for the Sectors whose representatives’ terms are expiring.  The cities assigned to one of the four regions in Los Angeles County (North County/San Fernando Valley, San Gabriel Valley, Southeast Long Beach and Southwest Corridor) shall meet as a Sector Subcommittee.  Each candidate with a majority weighted vote will then be nominated from that Sector for consideration for appointment to the MTA.

Meeting Notice

The Los Angeles County City Selection Committee South Coast Air Quality Management District Eastern Region will hold an In-Person meeting on: Thursday, February 22, 2024, at 11:00 a.m.

AQMD Save the Date

Location: City of El Monte, Council Chambers, 11333 Valley Boulevard, El Monte, CA. 91731